Sydney, Australia

Happy Tuesday!

Here’s a peek into my Australian adventure. Back when I made this trip, I didn’t have making a blog in mind, so I can’t really do a diary-like post (as in each day separately), but my future travel posts are going to be more detailed for sure.

This was my first solo trip, ever. And my first time out of Asia and experiencing winter. I cherished it even more since I purchased the ticket with my own money well-saved; it really felt like I deserved it.

Sydney is Australia’s iconic “city meets the sea” destination. It was wonderful, with the perfect mix of beach, good food and the kindest people! I noticed that some beaches were very family-oriented – kids outnumbered the adults in the water. I haven’t seen beaches like the white sandy ones back home, but the ones in Sydney come pretty close. Locals are extraordinarily friendly, and let me tell you, that friendliness gets absorbed by the travellers too. If you pass a car, you wave. If you walk past someone, you say hello. If you buy something, you have a conversation. I absolutely loved it.

Random fact: I found it pretty odd to drink water from the tap because Australian tap water is perfectly safe to drink! 

One of my favourite experiences was climbing the Sydney Tower. It was such a leisurely activity – we had plenty of time to gaze out at the harbour and take it all in contemplatively. I valued that time so much. That said, I yearned for my phone. I couldn’t believe I was somewhere this breathtaking without a way to document it. I completely understand why they don’t allow you to bring phones or other personal items in case you dropped something, but I wished I had it with me nonetheless. I loved every minute of it. I’d love to go back and do a twilight climb so I can go during the beautiful colours of the sunset. Let’s hope I can return to Sydney soon!

If you’re making a trip, there’s so much to do. From walking to Bondi Beach, climbing the Sydney Bridge and Tower, a trip to the Wildlife Sydney to taking a day to stroll the city. That was the best part of my trip – merely walking around a new place all by myself, with nowhere to be. That’s when I really saw the city. 

I’m so glad I came. Because while it was satisfying to finally visit Australia, it was so different from how I imagined.

Here’s a list of places I visited:

  • Manly beach 
  • Sydney Opera House 
  • Guylian Chocolate Cafe 
  • Sydney Harbour Bridge 
  • Chatswood 
  • Darling Harbour 
  • Red Fern (Suburb) 
  • Bondi Beach 
  • Pitts Street 
  • World Music Performance 
  • Hornsby (Suburb) 
  • Bales Park 
  • Beauchamp Park 
  • Lane Cove National Park
  • Sea Life Sydney Aquarium
  • Wildlife Sydney
  • Lindt Chocolate Cafe 
  • The Rocks
  • Royal Botanic Garden
  • Sydney Tower
  • Bronte Beach
  • Tamarama Beach

img_1600Bondi Beach; one of the most visited tourist sites in AustraliaProcessed with VSCO with kk2 presetProcessed with VSCO with kk2 preset“Bondi” is an Aboriginal word meaning water breaking over rocksProcessed with VSCO with kk2 presetIf you are a fan of the American comedy series Modern Family, you might remember seeing Bondi Beach in the episode “Australia”!Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetYou’re looking at the Bondi Icebergs Pool. You can find out more on http://www.icebergs.com.au!fullsizerender-9Bondi to Coogee Coastal Walk; the walk takes between 1-2 hours at a leisurely paceProcessed with VSCO with kk2 presetMade my way up a set of steep stairs to one of the highest points of the walk, check out this amazing view!Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_1742img_1745img_1579img_1603One of Sydney’s most loved events, the “Sculpture by the Sea” exhibition, is held in Bondi to Tamarama coast walkProcessed with VSCO with kk2 presetContinuing on from Bronte, the walk passes by the historic Waverley Cemetery which is perched on top of sandstone cliffs and rock platforms. The most scenic burial ground ever.

Now I’m going to show you some pictures of the glorious food I had during my stay!Processed with VSCO with lv03 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetReally tasty home-cooked meal made by a Maldivian family living in Sydney!Processed with VSCO with m5 presetBiggest churros I’ve ever had…. SO GOOD.Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetI was told Guzman y Gomez restaurant served THE best Mexican food so I had to try. Don’t you want a bite from that guacamole! screen-shot-2016-12-28-at-6-54-21-pmAt Guylian Belgian Chocolate Cafe to celebrate my cousin Dhadhu’s birthday! I love this photo, look at that view! 

You probably must have noticed that I love flowers from the main page of my blog.Processed with VSCO with kk1 presetimg_1556One of my favourite photos from the whole trip! Came across this beautiful little shed while I was wandering about.img_1555Flowers started to bloom at the end of my trip. Love how I got to experience a little bit of winter and spring.Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetimg_1543img_1540img_174476b8d61b-a5f7-4ab6-92b8-aae0a2508b02The lovely couple that made this trip possible for me ❤️img_1730Sea Life Sydney AquariumProcessed with VSCO with kk1 presetProcessed with VSCO with a5 presetProcessed with VSCO with hb2 presetManly Beach!Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetimg_1727Processed with VSCO with a5 presetimg_1728img_1743Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetProcessed with VSCO with kk2 presetimg_1741Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetimg_1734Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetLane Cove; the neighbourhood I lived inProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_1530Darling Harbour 😍 I would visit Sydney again just to come here.

img_1731Processed with VSCO with hb1 presetimg_1735Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetfullsizerender-12View of the sunset from the Sydney Tower 😍Processed with VSCO with kk2 presetProcessed with VSCO with kk2 presetCan you spot the rainbow in this one?Processed with VSCO with hb2 presetsilhouetteProbably the best silhouette photo of myself! Processed with VSCO with lv03 presetfullsizerenderSydney Opera Houseimg_1561Sydney Harbour Bridge Processed with VSCO with a6 presetMy iPhone 6S doesn’t do justice to the actual view at night!img_1729

And that would be the last photo from my trip to Australia! It took me hours to select these from all the photos I took and I really hope you enjoyed seeing them. 😊 Have a fabulous day!

7 thoughts on “Sydney, Australia”

  1. I love the Bondi to Coogee walk. Although I’ve only made it as far as Bronte. This post has made me a little homesick for Sydney!

    Like

Leave a Reply

